Land of the lost lambs

This morning and throughout my day felt ever so much the “lost lamb ” that I am, though I had listened to a well-known pastor’s sermon, it was the first time for the lamb, it didn’t last through the hot swelter day. In the evening when the cooling off came remembered he was witty and the lesson was not a burden to hear. The teaching was one that I can almost recite the Psalm 23. The sermon was given by Max Lucado.

      Psalm 23

A psalm of David.

1 The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. 2    

He makes me lie down in green pastures,

he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul.

He guides me  along the right paths for his name’s sake.

4 Even though I walk  through the darkest valley,[a

] I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.

You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.

6 Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life,

and I will dwell in the house of the Lord  forever.

His technique was simplified for an infant lamb, it was not a dumbing down but a lifting up. This is what this lost lamb needs, a beginners manual, be  in a newbies room of other newbies. Most sermons are addresses to the regular church goer who have long past all the trails they blazed.

 Like a mother giving birth, we remember everything up to that point and afterwards but that initial bearing down pain is wiped clean and we are able to hold on to that child we carried with so much love and not say “look at the pain you gave me!”

Support is crucial at this point when a lost lamb gets up on its wobbly legs for the first time. Awkward, backend falling over, or a hind legs gives out and sends them tumbling in for a face plant. Threats from the wolves always whispering they are coming to take the tiny lamb for their dinner and if the mother doesn’t help it back up it may soon give up, by growing weary of eating dirt.

No one likes to feel the grit in their teeth and nether do lost lambs, it’s so much easier to take a step back returning to lambs former life. There the other animals will pat it on the wool and say “well you gave it a good row come we will go have some fun, let’s go check out the rest of the flock.” Tired of feeling like a black sheep the lambs joins the other animals.

There the lamb won’t hear what shouldn’t be and what needs to be changed in order to be clean for when the groom comes.

This was how the lost lamb felt, people are quick to encourage you initially but once you struggle with your old ways they have gone missing. The lingering voices of how you need to shear your wool remains, painfully so. I was ready to give up and walk away so that I may rejoin those that have been lost lambs before.

Then I visited Max Lucado’s website for the very first time and on the first page without scrolling down was this: 

Legalism

Can I give you the down and dirty about legalism? Legalism doesn’t need God!

Legalism is a systematic process of defending self, explaining self, exalting self, and justifying self. Legalists are obsessed with self—not God. Legalism turns my opinion into your burden. There’s only room for one opinion—and guess who’s wrong!

Spiritual life is not a human endeavor. It’s rooted in and orchestrated by the Holy Spirit. Every spiritual achievement is created and energized by God.

The Bible says, “everyone who believes can have eternal life.”

Not “everyone who achieves.”

Not “everyone who succeeds.”

Not “everyone who agrees.”

But “everyone who believes.”

Salvation is God’s business. Grace is His idea, His work, and His expense. He offers it to whom He desires, when He desires.

Our job in the process is to inform the people, not to screen the people!

Thank you Max Lucado!

Lost Lamb

 

 

 

 

*middle picture:iwjv.net
*bottom picture:www.123rf.com
2 thoughts on “Land of the lost lambs

  1. That was very refreshing mindset Max cudao said. I’ve heard him once very good and anointed. Keep up your head up in this walk of faith we in bc God his faithful to us even when it don’t feel like it!

Leave a Reply

