Skipping stones…

A smooth stone sails across a lake skipping on the morning wrinkles from the brush with a soft breeze. A duck waddled out checking the temperature, settles in for a swim, a carp snatches a waterbug out from where it’s teetered out onto the fish’s  watery home. It’s all blissful, the sky is blue as should be the few sparse clouds are cottony puffy and the sun is warming in to the just the right temperature without wilting a slightist flower petal.

The child giggles and slings another pebble after having found another stone that fits into the tiny palm of his, it’s smooth and round with a flat bottom the kind that skipped on the lake moment before. His arm stretches out and the skipping stone goes out onto the glassy surface making it a triple. The little lad jumps up and down shouting back to his sister “Hey three, it skipped three this time”

She runs up to marvel at her young brother’s handy work and praises him for his good fortune. His big brown eyes look up at her soft gentle hazel ones they lock into the bond of what makes a family and brings sisters and brothers to cling to one another in the storms of life.

The stone skips landing on how as normal in my writing, went into a direction that I have no understanding on where its going to go, but the thing is, family life and the soft morning on a lake is what the Lord intended for us. How much farther are we going to get away from the original plan before enough say its enough and yell out the window just like in the movie The Network from 1976  “I’M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE!”

My smooth stone has been replaced with a sharp edgy one from thinking about that great scene, I can’t even recall having seen The Network, since then but that part where he jams open the window and shouts is vivid and it feels time has not brought closure to the stress of life. My family when we were younger was divided my sister and I one father my brother and younger sister another but we had the Brady Bunch action going on so it was almost a successful attempt at making a wholesome family life. As I raised my own sons most of his friends family life was a nightmare. Yes my sons raising was somewhat similar lacking a father who wanted to participate with them but I stayed away from the single scenes at the bar which spared them of the hardship that his friends faced.

Sailing through the cool breeze my stone that has softened finds Divine grace, calm and unruffled. Genesis 13:14-17 KJV

“And the Lord said unto Abram, after Lot was separated from him, lift up now thine eyes, and look from the place where thou art northward, and southward, and eastward, and westward: For all the land which thou seest, to thee will I give  it and to they seed for ever. And I will make they seed  the dust of the earth: so that is man can number the dust of the earth, then shall they seed also be numbered. Arise, walk through the land in length of it and in the breath of it: for I will give it unto thee.”

Dipping into the teal green water I see that we are not to be comfortable here in the world that has turned its back on the Creator because as soon as Abram was given the land he took up his tent and moved, he also not long afterwards offered his family member his prime choice of the land  Genesis 13:10-11 KLV “And Lot lifted up his eyes and beheld all the plain of Jordan, that it was well watered every where, before the LORD destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah, even as the garden of the Lord, like the land of Egypt, as thou comest unto Zoar. Then Lot chose him all the plain of Jordan; and Lot journeyed east: and they separated themselves the one another”

Stone scuff on a suggestion – Abram could have offered Lot a less desirable land in which for him to go to, in order to end the quarreling of their camps and Lot should not have taken what was best either. We do take advantage sometimes of family members maybe untended not able to see the whole picture like I am sure Lot though maybe there as better elsewhere and lets face it he liked having the city nearby. Same reason on why I like where I live,  its small town, not even a town yet I am less than 15 minutes away from Palm Springs.

The difference isn’t that Lot took the best, Abram had so much faith in his Lord to provide and wanted peace between the two he did not begrudge him the picking even on what he chose  and went so far later when Lot was in trouble to come to his rescue. In Genesis 14 it tells of how the rescue occurred then moves on with Abram not accepting the spoils of the battle a gift from a king no less, to  prove he didn’t get into the battle to gain riches. In return not only had the Lord provided for him, the Lord has made  Abram a very rich man.

I hold the stone, cool in my palm rolling it around looking at how its been formed, compressed tightly, beechwood grey knowing that my odd method of coming to terms of who I am and who and where the Lord should be placed in my heart and in my life. There is a call to move out from my worldly skin to take on a newer spirit but like a caterpillar in a cocoon this takes time before it emerges into a glorious butterfly. When that days comes I will know how to face my giants and place them behind the Lord who has a killer sling shot for those giants.

 

2 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore if any man be in Christ,   

he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold,

 all things are become new.” (KJV)

 

 

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0074958/quotes

1st picture: limbloggercheese.blogspot.c…

picture: kidsblogs.nationalgeographi…

bible verses from KJV

Leave a Reply

