What no candy corn?

I know boy do I know! Here it is the very last weekend in October and these lips haven’t nibbled on a single candy corn kernel. Should start off by gripping on just how fast time has flown by on propelled wings and then to have it donned on me that I haven’t appropriated a bag. Seriously there has been no slam dunking into the plastic basket with them for home!

Don’t know about anyone else but in this household these quirky confections are a tradition here. That bag is snagged around the time of that initial leaf is taking a swan dive for the ground and yet this act hasn’t been played out. My yard with the barren dirt has been heaped with leaves for some time and I haven’t gobbled the sugary sweet treat. Not even by passing a desk at work since there is no desk or work for that matter.

Apart of the reason for being candy cornless! No work to buy unneeded goodies, so that has been my life as of late – interrupted. For awhile thought I would be reacting the girl in the title of the movie. Thankfully with my new approach and hard work in the re-wiring department of my mind leaning away from being skeptical of it happening. More thanks go to God because it was darn close to being the one to take the place of my nutsy neighbor! The newly crossed wires now take the glee from small stuff like the lowly candy corn and because of taking such pleasure of them have developed a ritual in which they are to be eaten.

You or should it be rephrase that to I? Well I can’t take a handful and plopped them into my mouth. Oh no! I would miss that certainty in receiving the all important gratification by doing it that way. The flavor is so illusive no one can put a finger on it to have it defined. So what I do it take a nib to that top white peak of the kernel. Yummy….Next is the orange abdomen and finally the yellow booty goes down nice and smooth. Auh…delicious!

Now if I want to live it up I will flip it upside down and munch on that golden end first then reversing my process. Just to be a little kinky or if I happen to be near like I was last year a Winco then I will mix the bag with the chocolate buttocks. However these will never suffice my cravings for traditional needs alone. Nor will the adorable pumpkin shaped confections either.  These variations must always be in additions too and not served by me alone.

By now I am sure many of you feel this eating method of the candy corn  reveals maybe too much of my idiosyncracies. And quite frankly it does. But then again this outlandish behavior came from the Oreo’s. So its their fault in some ways for my unorthodox display and honestly is worst when it comes to the Heath Bar! On this one I have to take that bar and scrap away all the chocolate coating with my teeth. Half way down it is naked then I will sink the teeth into it’s brittle buttery goodness. Scary part for  you but not for me is the excitement of thinking that all of this will be taught to Riley the grand baby.

These are small perks of being a nana and feel that these are also blessing by believing that all things go through God first. Weird I know linking the pure enjoyment of the gnawing on candy corn to Him the Lord. You know?

However before I began reconstruction to my path for the Lord felt that His works were like what was shown in the movies and written in volumes of books. It was in the big miraculous stuff in order to find His hands. So maybe I am a nut but I have found in the last couple weeks working in a new way, my mind has found more reasons to be happy. A huge increase of positive energy over what has transpired in the past.

There has been so much less in grumbling to the Lord than by what was in my history. Only last night did I have to threaten to beat myself with my own tongue and to be real honest have no idea what the heart of the issue was. Will just blame my hot flashes ( they were terrible) I had already skipped working on the Old Testament this was way too hard and depressing me so I  went into Matthew and read 4 vs 4 recited rather badly ” Man cannot live by bread alone” couldn’t recall the rest. My re-wiring hasn’t gotten that far as to being able to recite verbatim.

My reading stopped shy of the Title Christ Came to Fulfill the Law – not ready to face it. Shameful of it? Yes by all means. Just want my face heading on with a proper perspective is all. I feel that my obviously meaningless delight in the candy corn is getting me there faster than before.

It’s just not the candy corn it is appreciating all the small gestures and sights and sounds that is guiding my path now. Maybe one day I will feel the presence of the Lord too. 🙂

 

 

Matthew 4

New International Version (NIV)

Jesus Is Tested in the Wilderness

4 Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted[a] by the devil.After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry. The tempter came to him and said, “If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread.”

Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’[b]

Then the devil took him to the holy city and had him stand on the highest point of the temple. “If you are the Son of God,” he said, “throw yourself down. For it is written:

“‘He will command his angels concerning you,
and they will lift you up in their hands,
so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.’[c]

Jesus answered him, “It is also written: ‘Do not put the Lord your God to the test.’[d]

Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their splendor. “All this I will give you,” he said, “if you will bow down and worship me.”

10 Jesus said to him, “Away from me, Satan! For it is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve him only.’[e]

11 Then the devil left him, and angels came and attended him.

 

 

 

pic: atguyfoodblog.blogspot.com

bible verses found on :http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Matthew+4&version=NIV

Leave a Reply

